Need help please: 2 1/2 week old seedling with necrotic leaves

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by F3d, Sep 10, 2012.

1. Hi All,

This is my first try at this and I have a Holy Grail Kush seedling, under some 23 watt 6500 cfls, that is 2 1/2 weeks old, started in a mix of 50% starter mix, 30% perlite 10% earth worm castings and 10% composted steer manure. The plant's roots have been inoculated already as well.

All was fine until yesterday morning when I noticed what I think you guys refer to as necrosis. It starts from the bottom leaves and is coming up the plant fairly quickly.

So I used the rapid test kit to test the soil and it reads nitrogen surplus (darker actually) and potash depleted. I think I might have done something wrong...

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Before you freak out, transplant into a bigger pot. Your plant is so young, it hasn't had time to really start feeding heavily. Trust me, the symptoms you're worried about happen to most MJ growers.

The rest of the plant (what I can see anyway) looks to be perfectly healthy. Once your plant is in it's new home, pay attention to the new emerging growth. As long as the new growth is green and healthy you'll be good to go. I'd pluck off the necrotic leaves as they'll fall off soon anyways.

It definitely needs to be in something bigger than a half filled Solo cup. Have you decided what sized pot and what type of a soil mix you'll be using? Let us know what your plans are and we'll see if we can help you along the way.

Welcome to GC,

Chunk

3. Thanks Chunck, for your advice and hospitality!