Need help making some decisions...

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Fluorescence, Jul 26, 2012.

1. I'm debating weather i should use soil, or make 5 gallon bubble buckets. I'm not sure which one would be better, for an absolute beginner. I herd soil makes the yield taste better?

Also what nutrients should i get, there are so many brands and different values, I'm not exactly sure.

I was planning on getting 600 watt lights, how many buckets could i put under that per light? Some people are telling me i shouldn't use 600w lights i should go with 400w or 1000w instead...

2. This is for a 5 gallon container

One bag = 1.5cf of organic soil(Roots Organic preferred)

3.5 lbs earth worm castings
    1 1/4 c blood meal
    1 1/4 c fish bone meal
    1 1/4 c alfalfa meal
    1 1/4 c kelp meal
    1 1/4 c bat guano
    1.0 c xtreme myco(optional)
    1/4 c azomite
    6 tsp lime
    4 tsp epsom salt
    2 tsp humic acid
    10% xtra perlite/pumice(optional)

I would say between 1-1 1/4 cups of amendments depending on the pre mix soil you use. Better soils go lighter and lesser soil go higher amount.

Put this mix at the bottom 1/3 of a 5 gallon bucket then blend with some base soil. The rest filled with your organic base soil. All you need to do is water like normal. Ph is barely ever an issue. And you'll be growing some of the best organic buds.

I use a mix of peat moss/earth worm castings/perlite for the planting pot(1st container)

3. Make it easy on yourself. Get yourself some quality soil and get the Fox Farm Trio and follow the chart...done and done. Dont overthink your first grow. Learn the basics and then go from there. Good luck

4. Yup....soil can be way more forgiving for initial grow. Get it right there then think bout hydro.
    600 watt light are fine and GH has simple nute systems to use
    G/L

5. #5 Olde School, Jul 27, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 27, 2012