Need advice on new lighting

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by GrowillaGlue4, Mar 21, 2018.

1. Hello fellow growers!
    I'm brand new to growing (this is my first grow) and I'll be posting a journal soon stay tuned in!

But back to the topic, I need some help choosing new lighting.

Things I've looked into :
    Cob Lights
    Perfect Sun COB (Kind of pricey but if the quality is there..)
    Quantum boards
    1000W HPS

I'm currently running a 4x4x8 tent with 900W Viparspectra, exhaust fan with carbon filter, intake fan, oscillating fan for circulation, dehumidifier/humidifier to control humidity, A/C & heater in my house to help control the temperatures.

I'd like to upgrade my light but I'm really torn between Quantum Board VS LED (a more quality one than the one I currently have) VS 1000W HPS.

I researched and heard that the ideal wattage for a quantum board would be 50W /sqft which would mean I'd need 800W. How much would that run me?
    Is an HPS a better option for the price?

I also saw this and was curious... Anyone who can give me some legit advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you and have a stoney day!

2. Did you look at HLG's rated coverage area for their fixtures? 50 watts per square foot is nowhere near where they run. The HLG 550 is made to cover a 4x4 and it runs 515 watts to the boards. HLG's rated coverage for flower is more around 30-35 watts per square foot.

If you want something to click the order button on then two qb260xl with 304 boards would be my preferred setup for a 4x4. The other fixture I may run is an HLG 600h.
    Horticulture Lighting Group 260 Watt XL Quantum Board LED Kit
    Horticulture Lighting Group HLG-600H Quantum Board LED Kit

I'm not talking out my ass but speaking from experience. I run two qb260's in my own 4x4 flower tent. It's a great setup but the standard qb260 runs a little warm. The xl runs cooler and spreads the boards wider.