Need advice on lights

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Bolton1, Feb 12, 2014.

1. I'm in the process ov setting a grow room up n I'm using 4-5 600w hid bulbs what I want to know is do I also need to put some red/blue spectrum lights in aswell?any advice on this would be appreciated :)

Sent from my LT30p using Grasscity Forum mobile app

Yes get a metal halide bulb for every fixture. You have the lights now? 2 rooms? More details.

3. Yes I have the lights already and no its gonna be 1 room wiv 35-40 plants.r u sayin I need another bulb for each light?

4. I'm pretty new to growing so need any advice as Im investing a good bit ov money in this n wanna get it right

5. Yes, add some metal halide lights.
    Other issues:
    That's a lot of heat. Make sure you figure a way to get rid of it.
    That's a lot of plants. Make sure you have a way to get rid of the smell.
    That's a lot of current. Make sure you run dedicated circuits for the lights. I would install a sub-panel in the grow room with four 15 amp circuits. I wouldn't plug more than two 600w lights into a 15 amp circuit. I would also use high quality timers, maybe in the $50-75 range.
    I don't know a lot about this but I've read there have been raids in different parts of the country based on the pattern of electrical power usuage. I assume they look for higher electrical use every 12 hours. If that's the case, I would think having two grow rooms would help. Have one dark while the other is light up. That's about all I know about it. Maybe someone who knows more about it will chime in.

6. I've now got the metal halide bulbs also got a 8 way conductor wiv built in timer that the manufacturer guarantees will be able to handle 8 600w lights without any problems I also have a large filter attached to large inline fan also got 2 small 5inch inline fans bringing clean air into my room aswell as 3 small fans to help circulate the air in the room,do u think this will be ok?