Need advice on lighting/growing room/number of plants !

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Geese, Sep 24, 2012.

1. Hi there :wave:

I'm still learning about growing and oh boy is there a lot to learn ! And what an interesting and extensive subject, I'm pleasantly surprised. I used to think all it took to grow was a seed, a pot, some water and a lot of sun ahahahah !

I'd like your advices on a few things. I am thinking of making a grow room of, apologies for the very precise measurement but I live in europe and have no idea what those means they're right off a converter, 6ft 1011⁄16in x 4ft 33⁄16in. Or, in the metric system, 210cm x 130cm.

I would like to know how many plants I could realistically stuff in there and have a good harvest with. Perhaps twenty ? Maybe a bit less, something like 15 ?

The walls will be covered with reflective mylar, if I had about 15 to 20 plants, would a single 600 watts HPS be enough ?

I have a lot more questions but I'll keep on searching for those and will come back and ask them if I find no definite answer. :hello:

Thanks a lot ! Oh, and the plants will be feminized Northern Lights ! :D

2. I don't know how many plants you could fit in that space, but you'd need more than 600watts. You're probably looking at more like 1000, at least.

3. I see, then if you say "at least", would two 600 watts lights make sure that I have well enough light to make my plants happy ?

4. Yes, two 600W is the way to go. 600W are the most efficient HID lighting, so 2 600W will be excellent. The number of plants in your box depends on the size of the pots and the size of the plants. It sounds like you plan on flowering lots of smaller plants vs a few big plants.

5. I'd go 2 600w and 12 plants imo

6. Well in your experience what would be the best for greater yield ? I'm wondering if having 10 with room to grow is as good as having 20 of them that are overcrowded.