Need advice from people experienced with eBay

Discussion in 'General' started by metallica2k1, Jan 14, 2009.

1. So I've been trying to get a certain guitar amp for a while now. Costs $1000 new. I won it in an auction for $550 with it advertised as Free Shipping. The money hasn't cleared yet, but now I got this email response from him after I emailed him about when the money would clear:

(...)I also have a problem with my shipper.
    Evidently, I can ship my head no charge but the cab is going to
    cost $100 to ship to your location due to size constraints. I can't
    afford to ship it for that much. Maybe we could work something
    out. Your check hasn't gone through and I can put an immediate
    stop payment on my end if you wish. Still I think you will be very
    pleased in the condition of this amp and the price isn't bad.

So is this legit, or am I getting scammed? I'm new to all this Paypal and eBay stuff. Something doesn't sit right here, but there's a reason I'm new to eBay (paranoid about getting scammed).

2. well, i recommend you remind him he listed it as free shipping. if he didn't do the proper research, that's his fault. BUT being the understanding person you are, if he goes ahead and ships it (he MUST use delivery confirmation or get some sort of tracking number), once it arrives and you give it a once over, you'll send the additional $50 to cover HALF of shipping.

as ebay would see it, he's trying to extort an additional $100 "off ebay" and they would have serious consequences for him. so, as far as legality, you are well protected.

Did you make the payment with PayPal and not have any funds in your account? (so it sent and "e-check")

3. #3 Bizzoo, Jan 14, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 14, 2009
    ask for the dimensions, ask how much it weighs how big it is, ask who his shipper is.....go to his shipper 9prolly ups or some shit) give them the dimensions he gave you, and see if it really costs 100 bucks to ship.....