Need advice about HPS Street light

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by jonnyappleweed, Jul 30, 2012.

1. Hi Everybody Looking for some advice please.

This year makes only my second outdoor attempt so I am still a newb at this; lemme go ahead and get that out there now heheh. I have a small garden with 6 plants in it (all less than 4ft tall currently) hidden stealthily behind other similarly-shaped veggies, but not so close that there's a nute struggle going on. I haven't seen any flowering action going on yet and my plants have been in the ground (started from seed in good soil) since end of April. My concern is the ole' street light problem. Near as I can tell after searching the forums, the crux seems to be amount of light and how close it is. In my case its a very bright HPS (orange glow) light that is well within 10 ft of my garden, on a pole about 15 feet in height. It's definitely brighter than the full moon. Everything had been progressing smoothly with the plants until about two weeks ago. I noticed that the plants' tops and top leaves seem to be turning/changing direction to face this cursed light! Its accompanied with some of those same fan leaves drying and turning crispy as if they'd been heated or burned but the lower area of all the plants are healthy. Is this light too close and will it stop my plants from showing sex at all?! It seems like someone 'Paused' the growth. Again perhaps its that its just too early and im being impatient but that's what brings me here is for some good advice from folks who know. I really appreciate any advice or ideas anybody might have on this.

Pic is attached of garden area. To the right of the porch at the end of the house you'll see the huge tomato plants. The babies are up against the house behind that. Crappy angle I know. If you look at the Ford pickup and go to the left of the tail gate you'll see the light.

Attached Files: