Nails, dome or domeless?

Discussion in 'Concentrate Tools' started by Just_another_stoner, Mar 15, 2015.

1. I'm currently in a debate with myself. I'm fairly new to dabbing and I have a small rig (I think it's 10mm). I just bought a quartz nail for it and I LOVE the quartz! I currently am using a setup with a dome and said nail.. It works well but my dome is cracking (I think from repetitive heating). I have used domeless nails in the past and have found them more convenient.... I was just wondering what the positives and negatives of domeless nails vs a nail with a dome were.
    Ramble on, y'all.

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

2. Edit: I do not directly hear my dome but after 3-4 dabs, it will be hot.

Heat*

3. Go domeless and get a carb cap, domes and nails are good but cant retain heat well enough to take fat low tempers. Get an HE if u go ti, cant go wrong

4. domeless really need a carbcap to get a decently good dab, otherwise you're pretty much forced to take a hot dab

5. I generally take hot dabs. Get the nail red, wait like 7-10 seconds and dab away. Again, I'm currently using a dome with a quartz nail and I think I want to stay with quartz.

Will anything flat and heat resistant will work as a carb cap? What are the benefits of using one?

Attached Files:

6. why so hot??

7. Personal preference I suppose!

8. #8 YoShytsWeak, Mar 17, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 17, 2015
    Looks like a glass nail. And yuck! Hot dabs are gross!

9. He prefers to destroy his flavor and thc of his oil.

10. That's just how I was taught to dab man

Care to explain a more correct way?

11. get it barley red the let it cool longer and thumb the dome. And dont use a paperclip