Mylar VS Alumnium Foil

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by TechBoyCash, Jul 12, 2011.

1. Hi.. im new to growing.. want to say that im a fast learner if i had the proper teachings.. but all i have is forums and youtube videos..

Anyway i started a bagseed grow for my first indoor grow.. i did not use mylar i used foil... i can see the light reflecting.. my question is do Mylar really make that big of difference..

for my second grow im going with autoflower.. Mi5 and Nirviana short rider.. will i get better results with mylar or can i go with the foil again..

short on cash so hopefully the foil works!:smoke:

2. foil creates hot spots that burn your plants, but i have never used it so i am not speaking from experience. mylar reflects a way higher percentage of light though than aluminum foil. Theres a really good thread - i think its called getting the most from your lights, might be in the lighting thread. Good luck!

3. Use mylar; the foil can create hotspots as it crinkles & a fire hazard if your using HID lites or lites that get hot.

4. Actually just read the sticky in this forum - its called "getting the most from your lights" explains everything you need to know about the effectiveness of different material.

5. If you cant afford mylar atm, then paint the walls flat white. Both are more effective and safer than foil for reasons above. Flat white paint will reflect quite a bit of light.

6. you can use foil just paint it flat white once its up

7. Does this have a benefit over just painting the walls white?

8. no .. other then if you're renting, you can peel it off the walls leaving no evidence.

9. evidence free is the way to be ;)

10. I like that :) that is a good idea if you are in a crunch. Wood may be a little easier to paint and move as a whole panel but most anything works. Growing isnt rocket science, but the better the conditions the better the out come