My Very First Grow (up in a tree)

Discussion in 'Outdoor Grow Journals' started by Ayebaw, Feb 8, 2009.

1. This is my first serious grow (aka I want this to be successful and come to harvest). I am a total newb with growing, so I'm hoping you guys will be willing to help me along, from now to harvest.

I started this off... I dunno how long ago, but it's just a beautiful baby plant right now. However, it is growing under a lamp under my bathroom sink, and this obviously will not do.

Earlier today I put a pot full of good soil up high in a mango tree near my yard (I'll upload pics tomorrow, or whenever it's decided I should move it outside). Here's the advice I need right now:

Should I transfer it to the bigger pot now? Will letting the roots grow a bit more help or would it be alright to just put it in the big pot?

Will it be okay outside? I don't want it to die, and I've had problems with bugs eating small plants I've sprouted before (any easy to make bug replants? I also have a bottle of some stuff, safe for fruits and vegetables, but would it be safe for bud?). Also, I want it out of my house ASAP.

This is only the first of a batch I'm growing. I'm getting more seeds tomorrow, and I'm gonna sprout and grow those as well. I'm wondering how many I should grow altogether (I can afford a decent number, but I want not too many to manage), seeing as it'll be from seeds I have no idea whether they'll come up mail or female.

I'm also wondering what kind of yield I'll be looking at (average), and how long it'll take. I live in Hawaii, FYI.

Attached Files:

2. #2 champloo, Feb 8, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 8, 2009
    Lol i wanna try to grow in a tree sometime, seems like a good idea, good sun and keeps it away from critters ( well most :S).