My seedlings keep dying!?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by yones420, Oct 24, 2012.

1. Iv made two attepmts and now germinating for attempt 3, i am a beginner obviously. I plan to grow hydro so im propagating in the small rockwools. After they have sprouted and are around 5cm i am placing them under 250w hps/mh dual spec lights, approximately 15inches from the plants. After germination they seem healthy but after just one day under light they are falling over and it looks like theyre shriveling up , i have no idea what the problem is but i am now relating it to the lights because im quite sure i have not overwatered/underwatered . I do not have a temp measurement however.

Anyone know the problem? here are some pics of how they eventually look : :( - Imgur

2. That's way to much light for seedlings, you're frying them. Until they have a real leaf set, they need to be in a germination dome, and a single 26w cfl from about a foot away is plenty of light, they're rooting more than growing. After they have a real set of leaves you can ease them up to the hps.

3. I concur with what he said, mostly.

Also, why are you growing through...straws?? Not sure I've ever see that before...I don't see that helping out your situation. Your seedlings should never be that lanky.

Do you have any grows under your belt? Perhaps you should just stick with a nice, proven, organic soil until you've researched more on proper hydro growing technique.

4. I applied the straws there only after the stems got thin, lanky and tipped over, before i put them under light they were standing straight, besides my light set iv only got a table lamp , would that be sufficient? or maybe a windowsill until they have grown a bit more?

5. thanks for your advice guys

6. get a cfl to start your seedling under, use that for the first 4 weeks then the big light at about 24" above the seedlings.. It also looks like you are keeping the cubes saturated,