My noob attempt at a LST

Discussion in 'Plant Training' started by Blizoblunt, Aug 4, 2011.

1. This is my first time growing and already topped once. My girls are already in there 5th day flowering. I do hella reading everyday. Im horrified to do a supercrop.

For this LST, I didnt want to use string. I had 2 bags of bamboo stakes that I cut into pieces that were in-between 6" and 18". About 50 pieces total.

I got some flower wire from the 99cent store. Its basically like a wire clothes hangers metal, but softer. I cut them into 5" strips. Its amazing that no one sells wire hangers anymore!

I taped them onto the bamboo stick and even curled the wire up over the tape and then taped again. It aint going no where. Duct tape is awesome till you run out.

I then staked the bamboos into the ground pretty deep, I dont want them sliding out, and then simply hooked the branch with the wire. Some of the branches didnt want to bend much, but I still did it.

Did I get understand the concept and achieve a successful LST?

Let me know what you guys think.

Attached Files:

2. It made my girls look way smaller. Depending on how hard the top node stem was, they went from 24" to about 15-18" after I was done. Every pre-nug has access to sun now. I even trimmed some of the super big leaves.

3. #3 Blizoblunt, Aug 4, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2011
    I know, I should have done this way sooner. Its not an even canopy. It looks like an "onion blossom from chilis", LOL. Do you guys think it will make a difference this late in the game? Or should I yank my hooks?

4. i dont think it will do too much now that there done veging. Its not like you have space restrictions so i dont really see why you decided to lst?

5. I guess I thought it would help get it some sunshine in places it normally wouldnt. I kind of came to conclusion it wasnt for me after I saw some youtube videos that talked about space restrictions.