My Grow Journal (aka "you're doing it wrong")

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Grow Journals' started by MoreTreesLessIdiots, Mar 18, 2016.

1. Hi everybody,

I'm a disabled veteran dealing with a lot of issues, I've found that our plant friend helps me more than the pills and surgeries they want me to go through. I started growing in 2014 because I wanted to find specific strains to help with specific problems. Also, I can't afford to keep buying the stuff. :)

I'm not new to growing, but I'm definitely new to doing things correctly. I'm on my fifth or sixth grow now and have not had great results....still learning along the way. I started with one grow setup two years ago but now have four going at the moment. This is partially due to a desire to have a perpetual harvest, partially because I'm not expert enough to rely on getting everything I need out of one harvest three times a year (as you'll see I have poor efficiency in my yield).

I started in soil and moved to hydro after the first grow. Ironically I moved to hydro because I thought it would be less maintenance, and because sometimes I have to travel for a few days at a time. With my soil grow I was watering every other day, with the hydro I can leave it alone for 3-4 days (5 days in extreme cases for travel) and the plants survive. In my case it was a move to hydro out of necessity. So far hydro has made the overall grow process quicker, but yields lower. My quest is to solve this. (Side note: If you know how to grow in soil or coco and there's a way to leave plants unattended for 5 days at a time, let me know! Not something I have to do often, but sometimes travel needs come up. Unfortunately I have no friends or family that can water my girls in my absence.)