My first grow...

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by bigk, Feb 29, 2004.

1. Hey guys, I'm very new to growing and very new to this community....

I just had a couple of quick questions, and would LOVE anyone to answer them....

Well, i'll begin with what my set up is like, I have 125w grow lamp, I don't know what kind... and one very large pot, maybe 10-12in in my closet.... I'm looking only to grow about 2-3 plants.... Which I know will take at least two large pots.... I'm working on it!!! Well , anwyay I have about 8 or so nice sprouts from seeds to choose from, i'm waiting for them to get about 1/4 to 1/2 in length before I plant them.. my questions are as follows....

1. What kind of lighting do I want on the seeds as soon as I put them in ?? I'v heard both 24/0 and also, 18/6....

2. I want my plants to only grow to be about 12 inches because of my closet restraictions.... Is there anyway to get more buds per 12 inches? m I've read cutting branches may split them or some shit and cause more to grow,.,.. is this true?

And lastly.... 3. I've heard that once I get them to the size I want them, to switch lighting to 12/12, how long should I expect to get them to 12 inches?

Thanks a lot for everything, and I was was laso wondering about watering, which i'm not sure is very impiortant.... but if you could leave me some tips on what kind of watering they will need through the cycle, I would aoppriciate that as well....

Such as once a week at first, then in flowering two times, or whatever....

Thanks so much guys, this forums rocks...

2. 1. if you have a MH and not an HPS i think your kinda screwed on the flowering side of it cause MH are shitty for broducking big buds.... and t ostart out on veg 24/0 is great