My First Grow (Beginner Guide (As I Go) For Cheap Bastards):

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by ObsoleteSpartan, May 24, 2013.

1. #1 ObsoleteSpartan, May 24, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 3, 2013
    This is my first time growing a plant, I read that when you have no clue how to grow that the best method is to learn with a bubble bucket, so I bought one. It was on sale for $25 and I got Jungle Juice Nutrients, which was on sale for $15 on Amazon. (Google search: '5gal bubble bucket' and you should find one on sale. http://www.amazon.com/Advanced-Nutrients-Jungle-Juice-Bloom/dp/B008CQ92M6/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1369372073&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=jungle+juice+nutrients These nutrients will last at least 3 plants, right meow I am on day 2 and I only had to use a few drops, if it stays at this rate, I will be able to grow at least 8 plants with these nutrients if I am measuring carefully)
    I also bought a 10.5" diameter clamp light fixture with reflector, and a couple 6500k CLF lights 1.6k lumens each. The recommended is at least 3k lumens per sq. ft. 6-8 inches from plant. The grow room is a part of my closet, about 2'x3'x5'. 2' wide, 3' long, and 5' to work with in height. I used a 75sq ft tin foil roll to cover my grow area, just don't let it wrinkle too much, it is cheap but works very effectively.
    My items list:
    -Bubble Bucket ($20-$60)
    -Nutrients ($15-$80)
    -CFLS ($6-$25)
    -Clamp light ($8-$16)
    -Tin Foil ($1-$4)
    -Distilled water 4gallons+ ($5)
    -Fan ($5-$20)
    -Duct Tape ($5)
    -My cheap bastard ways (Priceless)

Bubble buckets add more cost than just getting a 5gal bucket with soil, but I feel that a bubble bucket has a lot fewer problems after you have found out how to balance your pH level 5-6.5 (5.5-6 recommended
    My Set Up:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Day One: