My First DWC Grow

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Grow Journals' started by Telebubbies, Apr 21, 2018.

1. Hi. So I am new to DWC. I always grew with coco coir, but recently quit after discovering these tiny parasites eating the seeds once they get a tap root. It seems to be an issue in my house, flies could be bringing them in, not sure. So I decided to switch to DWC.
    I took a sour diesel plant from my coco coir, and gently took water in a spray bottle and I eventually had only roots left, and I put it into the coco coir. The reservoir is 45l, and I have it filled at about 40l. Water is all pHed. This is day 2 of my using this DWC, and the sour diesel (the bigger plant, to the left) seems to be growing a new node already. But it is definitely still going through shock. The plant to the right is Northern Lights (started it in rockwool, and is 2 days old from when I took it out of the paper towels. Very impressed with it so far). As I said, it is 2 days in DWC, so no roots are showing from the bottom yet.
    Any advice will be helpful. I am being cautious of algae growth. I have 1 300W (156W actual) viparspectra light up and I will put in the second one when they are flowering.

The tent is 60x60cm. Nutrients come from my local hydroponic shop - and they actually make it themselves. They have a few stores around my country. So it is more of a no brand type. It was basically powder mixed that I had to mix with water. It made 15l concentrated nutrients. But it does have 3 sets. Micro, Grow, and Bloom.

Excited to see how this goes. Any tips is highly appreciated! I am also highly open to any criticism you guys might have since I am new to this. I will update regularly if this post gets any recognition.

IMG_0535.JPG IMG_0534.JPG IMG_0533.JPG

AGAIN, the one in the rockwool (right) is NORTHERN LIGHTS, and the one to the left is SOUR DIESEL