my first AutoFlower grow closet to tent, 135 watt led to 2x240 watt led

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by wizwar, Oct 11, 2014.

1. Hello everyone here on the grass city forums. this is my first attempt at growing auto flowering cannabis I've successfully grown photoperiod in the past, became very sick and had not much motivation to continue growing feeling a bit better I've decided i really would like to have some of my own quality medication and making things as hopefully easy as possible decided to give auto flowering a try i picked up a few seeds and started to give it a go at first i ran into some issues i wanted to give coco coir a try i grabbed a 3 pack of zoo-med coco coir reptile bedding packaging stated use for your plants figuring it would be perfect i expanded it with distilled water and mixed about 70/30 coco perlite poped a seed in and in a couple days she's up looking ok then less then two days later started looking sick not growing turning light green and wilting well figuring i didn't put any calmag or anything in the coco that might be the issue i did a lil reading and see most really clean some coco brands being high/hot with salts or other contaminates i decided to pick up a ppm/tds meter and i started with 0ppm distilled water poured through and got the darkest brown runoff I've ever seen it tested at almost 1500 ppm this was already almost a week 1/2 into the grow was pretty peed at my self i should have known i suppose but i tried to contact zoo-med about the issue explained my problem and the rep replies yes thats usually the color of water after it has been run through dirt and mulch ok I'm not using dirt and mulch. pure coco coir doesn't have dirt or mulch basically was a waste of time emailing them as they seem to be boneheads about their own products i won't go into further detail about the rep but definitely was not fit to be in the position their in well i flushed the s**t out of them and a few days later started to look