My First Attempt at Growing. What do you think?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by cyrick26, May 7, 2010.

1. #1 cyrick26, May 7, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2010
    Hello everyone. :wave::wave::wave:

I tried posting last night, but the thread never appeared in here, so lets try it again.

I have been lurking the forums for the past month or so after stumbling across it one night. Anyway I starting reading all the write ups this site had, and looked at everyones grow journals, and all the tips. And... it got me wanting to grow one of my own.....lol.

This is my first attempt so I just used some old bag seeds from some schwag that I bought a while ago and kept. Since this is my first time, and I am really just experimenting, and learning about what does and does not work, and just gain experience in the whole procedure. So if they do not make it... I got tons more seeds and hopefully I learned from that mistake and start over.

Well I germinated 6, but only 3 spouted out of them. I learned from one big mistake right away. I left them in the little party cups that I used to plant them in and they got rootbound. So they were stunted in growth for a while until I realized that something was wrong and their leaves were turning yellow and brown.

They are all doing better now, but I almost gave up on two of them,

My current lighting sucks, but I just recieved my 125W 6500K CFL in this morning, now just waiting on that mogul socket to come in....lol. Currently I only have 7 27w 5500K CFL Lights abut 2 inches above the plants. I grew them in some soil, as I really dont feel like i have the time nor experience to learn a hydro system at the moment. And I plan on buying the 2700K light in the next week or so to use later. My next purchases also include maybe the GL80 and the carbon filter.

So far it has been a real fun experience and I am learning tons from this website and from personal screw ups, but all in all, its fun.