My attic grow, with issues.

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by phatrick2332, Sep 11, 2009.

1. #1 phatrick2332, Sep 11, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 11, 2009
    This is my first attempt growing in an attic grow room. I figured that it wouldn't be too difficult except for getting the room down to temp. Which is exactly the problem.

It is 8x5x5(at peak). I have 2 dual 7" window fans that I am using for the intake and exhaust always on hi setting. Room is made of drywall, then insulated with r-13 insulation and covered in emergency blankets on the inside. Right now I am lighting with 4 48" floro's (8 bulbs total). The room is usually within a degree of what the attic temp is at (temps as high as 95* during the day).

I am using dryer ducts for the intake ducts and I am going to wrap them insulation to try and shield them from the heat of the attic over the distance the air has to travel. After that im going to build a box around the exhaust fan inside the room to make it pull the air directly from the peak of the room. Right now it is pulling from the ground because it was the best place to actually mount the fan. I also have plastic that I am going to completely wrap the room in. Other than that I can't think of any other ways to cool the room without the use of a portable ac unit.

Here are a few horrible pictures of the room but you get the idea of what I am working with here. Sorry for the long read. ;)

Any help is much appreciated.
    P

Attached Files:

2. I would up the intake size of the ducts to 6" from 4".

What have you insulated the roof with?

Looks like a nice room.

If heat is a problem now, I wouldn't stick anymore electronics in there.

There are water cooled lamp fixtures also.

You could really drop the temp with an aircooled fixture (cooltube) but then your running a different lighting system.

You could be creative and seal up the fixtures and force air cool the fluorescents.