Mold on soil top?

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by 6raygp, Nov 26, 2012.

1. My soil has a layer of what looks to be mold over the top of it.... like a white fuzzy spots.....

I think it has to do with the oats i added in the soil....

any advice?

Im thinking H2O2
    Flush
    AACT
    ??

2. a white fungus will sometimes develop on the top of your soil but usually only if you havent disturbed the soil for quite some time; is this the case?

How do the plants look? The white fungus I'm talking about is actually a beneficial fungus and can just be aerated into your soil mix.

I wouldn't worry too much about it if the plants still look ok, disturb the top layer of soil and mix it around, your soil needs air and time to dry out or you will always have this problem..

3. The soil is only about 4 months old...

I started brewing up an aact ill let the ladies dry out untill its ready. only 12 hr brew window here in the winter :(

4. The soil is only about 4 months old...

Does it possibly mean im over watering?

I started brewing up an aact ill let the ladies dry out untill its ready. only 12 hr brew window here in the winter :(

5. The mold is a fungi and harmless but, can attract fungus gnats and other unwanted visitors that can harm your plants.

If the white mold is only on the top layer of soil, scrape it up with a fork and decrease the frequency of watering the plant receives. Always plant in containers with drainage holes to allow excess water to flow out.
    Better light, higher humidity and air circulation help keep all plants healthy.

6. It possibly means that your soil is alive!

If they are very fine silvery white strands, then more likely than not it is due to adding the oats, and you have nothing to fret over.

You might want to do a web search and key in 'old man beard' or 'santa beard'.

Hope that helped.