Molasses making my plants wilt?

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by willhmx04, Jun 29, 2012.

1. Im not a novice grower Ive been growing for many years now. I recently added a tblspoon of molasses to "feed my soil". A couple days later some of the plants developed a little wilt action. Picture this because my camera not working right now: The very top shoots on the wilting plants look kinda perky still but the lower have started a slight wilt. I know that too much calcium will make plants wilt. I dont overwater so that can be ruled out. I dont underwater either.
    I use spring water by the gallon from the grocery store when I water. The plants have been transplanted from 1 gal. pots to 5 gal. about 2 weeks ago. I am using fresh FFOF and I havent added any nutrients to the water except for molasses. Any thoughts?

2. You're an experienced grower? (not trying to be rude) have you grown organic before or different method of growth?

3. Yes I am experienced. I normally use soilless switched back to soil. I never use molasses. I just discovered it has calcium and other shit in it. Seems to me like it has calcium toxicity just need a second opinion on this not on if Im an experienced grower or not. not trying to be rude im really not. Thanks!

4. I really doubt the molasses would give you that much calcium to cause a toxicity in one use. It may also be something in the FFOF. Kinda hear a love/hate opinion about those pre-mixed bags.
    I personally don't use molasses because it is like gasoline. Think of your soil like a fire. It's good to have a mix of logs and smaller branches for a nice fire. Leaves, branches, meals, flours, etc are like logs. FPE/botanicals/bottled nutes are like smaller branches. Molasses is pure energy. It causes the micro-herd to explode and die off just as rapidly, causing wild fluctuations in soil health.

5. #5 Chunk, Jun 29, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2012
    Calcium Toxicity