might try coco

Discussion in 'Coco Coir' started by clint torres, Aug 10, 2012.

1. I have always been a soil grower but have heard about coco.

I am a NEWB who has read a few bubbles but they got a bit informed.
    For a first timer, what is the most basic yet effective start up?

Do i really need an EC meter? Epsom salts?

Do I just basically follow the guide lines on the hydroponic nutes?

I mean as long as it's not over fed and the pH is right it should be good right?

I just don't know.

Beginner tips PLEASE.
    Thank you:wave:

2. #2 SCMC, Aug 10, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 10, 2012
    Coco is as versatile a media as you could imagine. It seems that nearly everyone has their own way, or at least some subtle nuance from room to room, that makes nearly every coco grower their own expert. There is no one way to grow in this media but it is wonderful to have someone new who wants to experiment for themselves. Trust your instincts and rely on a dependable nutrient program to do the heavy lifting.

[​IMG]

Follow the custom feed schedule and get 10-20% of the solution to run through the planters regularly. For beginners I suggest a greater amount of runoff than a lesser amount until they feel comfortable with the media.
    Alternate full suggested strength solution and half-strength solution until you are certain the plants need the regular full-strength feedings. Focus on root development early on (don't drown them when they are young).
    I suggest using either expanded Botanicare Coco or Botanicare ReadyGro Aeration Mix.