Mick's Coco - K.I.S.S. - Scrog Method

Discussion in 'Coco Coir' started by MickFoster, Apr 24, 2017.

1. #1 MickFoster, Apr 24, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2019
    Hello - My name is Mick and I'd like to share my method of growing with anyone interested. I've been growing for quite a few years but I make no claims of being a professional. I can't diagnose plant problems and there are many grow methods that I admittedly know nothing about. I have grown in soil, DWC, waterfarms, hempy, and coco over the years. It's not my intention to imply that my way is the only way to grow, nor do I dispute any other growers' methods.

My method is very successful and I simply want to share it with others in hopes that I can help new growers. Daily, I read questions from new growers and old alike experiencing problems with yellowing and slow growth in coco. And receiving bad advice (usually from soil growers) from people that lack understanding of the difference between coco and soil.

After years of growing I decided to borrow my brother's camera and take pictures of my last grow at different stages. I only grow 4 plants per year for my personal use, and typically yield anywhere from 20 - 28 oz., with never a deficiency or dis-colored leaf. This grow is Nirvana - Ice, and I'll detail everything I do from start to finish. I'll be happy to answer any questions people may have about the way I grow. There's a lot to cover so I won't get this done in one sitting - please bear with me.

This is the extent of what I use. Details later.
    Nutes.JPG

Coco -
    Coco can be purchased in either brick or bag form - I have no preference and have used both with success. The most important thing to remember about coco is that "it is not soil" and shouldn't be treated as such. It is hydroponics! Unlike soil, coco is inert, contains no nutrients at all, and therefore needs to be pre-charged before use.