Metal Shavings In Grinder

Discussion in 'Other Smoking Accessories' started by pothead4768, Jun 6, 2014.

1. #1 pothead4768, Jun 6, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 6, 2014
    Hi everybody,
    I own just one grinder I've been using since 6 years. It wasn't really cheap, I paid it around 37€ - 50$ (i'm from EU). I never bought another one as simply I didn't feel I needed to... until now.
    On the space case website I've read "no metal shavings" in a description, so I started worrying about what I had always thought was just "dirt".
    I clean my grinder often, but everytime the half-external part quickly gets covered with dark grey (almost black) stuff, though I never found anything like that in the internal part or in the weed.
    Anyway, here it is. Do you think they're metal shavings and that I should buy another one?
    Thank you and sorry about possible errors: english isn't my primary language.
    [​IMG]

2. Happened to my aluminum grinder. Got a stainless steel one, no more chipping.

Would NOT use that.

3. I think you should spoil yourself - get a new one. ;)

4. Most of that stuff is just smushed up bud that gets stuck there and gunks up the grinder. However it does look like a few chips have come off of the grinder itself so you may as well treat yourself to a new one, no point smoking metal if you don't have to.

5. #5 walterbishop, Jun 6, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 6, 2014

What grinders are stainless?

So far as I know most, if not all, popular brands (Space Case, Cosmic, Santa Cruz Shredder, Mendo Mulcher, ect) are machined aluminum with various anodized colors or coatings.

Only thing stainless on them is usually the screen in a 4 piece.