Medium

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by AGGrower, Jun 26, 2009.

1. Ok I'm new to growing indoors and dont know what medium to pick. I know of soil or hydroponics (bubble buckets). Which one would you guys pick and why?

I have a 400 digital ballast with a cooltube reflector if that helps any.

2. I would say 1/2 inch rock wool pellets. Would run you around $7 per pot.

3. i think this new guy is confused. hehe

so 400watt light. there are two main categories here like you said

soil and hydro

soil mediums: soil, vermiculite, pearlite, coco coir which is some amazing stuff.

hydro mediums: usually just rockwool and hydroton

since you mentioned bubble bucket as a medium in your question i will add other -methods- of growing with hydroponics.

bubble bucket like you said also known as DWC (deep water culture)
    flood and drain aka ebb and flow
    drip
    and aero

4. For a first time grower, I would suggest going soil. It is easier and much more forgiving than hydro. Do your hydro research along the way, and once you get a couple of soil grows under your belt, give hydro a shot. By then, you will know the basics about what a plant needs, what problems look like, etc., and a hydro grow will come easier.

5. bubble buckets all the way! hydro really isn't that hard.

5 gal bucket, net pot lids, air pump, air stone, air tube, then get a cheap TDS meter from ebay and pick up a ph test kit (the little eyedropper bottle) when you get your nutes. i really don't think theres any need for fancy $200 meters. just keep your shit in range (ph between 5 and 6) and don't feed your seedlings 800 PPM of nutes, as burning the plants is the biggest and easiest mistake to make/avoid. its a cheap, simple setup.