Mario Party 8: suckage

Discussion in 'Gamer's Heartbeat' started by Peppie, Apr 27, 2009.

1. I recently started playing Mario Party 8 on the Wii (I know, I know, i'm kind of late but I don't care). I haven't played a Mario Party game since Mario Party 3 so I was sure I was in for a surprise. Let me describe my feelings upon inserting and playing the disc.

Disc Loads in Wii Menu: Oh sweet, looks pretty fun.
    Title Screen: Hey there's Mario, and Luigi, and Waluigi, and Birdo, and Wario, and Peach, and Toad??
    Game Menu: Who the fuck is this dude in the hat? What the hell? Is he voiced by some Indigenous tribal chief? Holy shit his hat just talked! What the hell is all this carnival bullshit?
    Playing a board: what the fuck? Everytihng is happening so fast. I feel like I'm on speed. These boards suck. Where the hell is Toad to lovingly accept my 20 coins. Now I have to buy hotels or race to the finish to get a free star. This is boring as fuck.
    Mini Game: Alright this is pretty cool. The wii mote comes in handy and is actually pretty fun but the mini-games lack some originality.
    Back to the Board Game: Damn, Bowser is such a pussy.
    Ending a board game: Wow, I won and that's it. No evil bowser got to be fought and defeated, I simply earned a title.

My analysis of Mario Party 8 is that Nintendo got sensitive and decided that they should make the game fun and make everyone a winner. By doing that, they took out all originality and made sure that only children fucked up on too many sugary products would enjoy the game.

It seems that MP8 was designed solely to continue the series. Also, I believe that Nintendo was banking on the Wii-mote interaction to be a high selling point. Honestly, it's the only thing tolerable in an otherwise insufferable attempt at a game.