Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Marijuana use and depression... related?

Discussion in 'Medical Marijuana Usage and Applications' started by howdy890, May 21, 2008.

1. I just thought I'd bring this up here to see if anyone knows of any stories or has any extra information about the use of marijuana and its effects on depression (and any other mental health issues)...

I studied drugs and related health issues, but could never find anything about drugs and how it affects depression. I have been told by some people that marijuana can trigger off depression in certain people, depending on their genes (for example, if someone has a family history of depression, marijuana use can trigger that off easily).

I am interested in this, because I know someone who had depression in their family genes and they got depression after having used marijuana a couple of times.... don't know if this is just a coincidence or not?

I'm not posting this to discourage people from using the drug, because I know this is a drug used based site, I just thought I'd post it to see if anyone has any experience or info on this topic...

Thanks.