Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Marijuana brain damage in teens?

Discussion in 'Apprentice Marijuana Consumption' started by stickodoom, Sep 3, 2011.

1. #1 stickodoom, Sep 3, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2011
    So I'm 18 and I've been toking for around 3 years. I'm not a super heavy smoker but for the past year i was smoking at least once a day. Anyway, i read about 3 different studies that said teens who smoked marijuana, since their brain's are still developing, exhibited loss of "executive function" and performed poorer on "cognitive function" tests as apposed to a group of non-smokers. all of these studies had a relatively small sample size ( between 14 - 35) these people had mostly smoked from between age 13-16 until they were 18-19 and in the last few years they were smoking around 28 grams a week, also about half of the people in the smokers groups were fairly heavy drinkers. All the studies also seemed to be conducted by organizations with a negative stance on marijuana to begin with. I've been cutting down a little anyway, but I've only smoked a couple times in the last two weeks. So, my question is do you think there's any truth to these? :confused:

2. #4 Storm Crow, Sep 3, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2011
    You like studies? :D

Current and former marijuana use: preliminary findings of a longitudinal study of effects on IQ in young adults (full - 2002) Current and former marijuana use: preliminary findings of a longitudinal study of effects on IQ in young adults