Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Marijuana and high blood pressure.

Discussion in 'Marijuana Consumption Q&A' started by Mimil2701, Jun 4, 2020.

1. I am 55 yrs young and I have been smoking steadily for the last 7 years. I suffer with high blood pressure, but am on medication. The last two times I smoked within 5/10 minutes my blood pressure spike to 185/105. Naturally, it freaked me out. Has anyone else had this issue? I'm not afraid to try it again.

• Like Like x 1
  2. I've found thru personal experience and online research that smoking cannabis will make your BP spike for a short time as well as increasing your heart rate. In my case after 30 or 45 minutes my BP lowers significantly and my rate drops to normal. There's a lot of info online about it, research it.

3. I've been looking at a lot of info online. Like I've said, this isn't my first time smoking. I smoke almost everyday, but this is the first time that it spiked so much. It scared me and now i'm afraid to smoke.

4. Maybe if you smoked a little less or maybe some strains that aren't as strong THC wise...everyone is different, I only smoke a couple of joint hits at a time and usually only smoke in the evening before bed.
    I have too much going on during the day to want to get buzzed...lol

5. I actually don't smoke everyday anymore and when I do, it is after I get home from work. You are correct, it could be the bud. The person I get it from gives me different strains that he tries. Thank you for talking to me about this.

• Like Like x 1