male or female....

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by samantha420, Jul 20, 2004.

1. I am new to growing and would like to know is this male or female....

It needs to be transplanted and if it is male i wont bother with it,... cause i already have a big male i am letting grow for cannabutter and hash haven't decided yet... but if you could tell me what i have here i would appreciate it...

Blaze On
    samantha420

Attached Files:

2. You can't tell yet. Look at the top 4 nodes and search for little balls or white hairs. Balls = guy, hair = girl. Pretty straight forward. There is a pretty good guide on this in overgrow, look in the top articles.

3. I tried to get the top of the plant... the pic this morning was outside... but i have it on 12 and 12 inside... so this on is take inside...

but i dont see balls or hair....

and where is the section overgrow?

thanks

blazed
    samantha420

Attached Files:

4. Looks like a girl to me! :)

5. Plants usually don't show sex until around 15 days into 12/12. Sometimes longer.

I don't see any signs of sex yet on that plant.

6. Then what are these?

Attached Files:

7. Those aren't female pistillate. The top circled things are called stipule. The bottom 2 circles look to be a combination of both stipule and new growth.

Female pistils will be smaller, white, and harder to see.

The middle circle does look like it may have preflowers, but i'm not sure.

8. So should i go ahead and repot it... it needs it bad...

9. It would hurt it at all. I would add some P shit such as bone meal for it though if you are already into flowering. Give it a week and with a magnifying glass you should know. Or give it a bit longer then that and you will know reguardless :).

10. If you want to repot you can. What size container is it in now?

11. My thoughts exactly. I'd repot that thing, if it turns out it's a male you can always get rid of it later.