Making your lungs stronger???? Getting back into shape after being lazy for 10 years lol

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by letsmokeasweet, Feb 6, 2014.

1. #1 letsmokeasweet, Feb 6, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2014
    Hey all
    I'm trying to get back into shape. I'm hoping there are a few of y'all smokers out there who got back into shape
    All my life I was in great shape. I usually played basketball a good 5 times a week and playing was effortless for me. When I had to go to a boot camp program, I breezed though the physical part, I ran circles around all the staff.
    Then I got off probation And started smoking weed.

So here I am 10+ years later, I haven't really played ball since and I just started playing again on a team
    I still have my shot but I can't run.
    Just shooting around before the game and I am already out of breath.

So I started running laps at the baseball field down the street and I am noticing a difference.
    The problem is, my lungs are weak. I am always out of breath and trying to catch my breath.
    I feel like if I could just breath, I could run
    If I could run, I could jump and rebound and shoot right and help my team in more ways

So my problem, I feel right now is my breathing. How can I get my lungs stronger, quicker? i have 6 more games left and I really would like to help my team when the play offs come.

I'm trying to push myself hard, but it seems like its hard to run when u can't catch ur breath.

Does anyone have any ideas what other steps I can take while running to build myself back up? What did y'all do?
    Thanks

2. Bump opp

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum mobile app

3. Something you may want to learn is diaphragm breathing! It will strengthen your breathing a lot!

Sent from my H866C using Grasscity Forum mobile app

4. #4 Chris617, Feb 6, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2014