Making a soil

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by qualitysense, Apr 5, 2012.

1. Hello all! I'm going organic and I have decided on making my own soil mix. I'm only growing autoflowers with this mix, so I want the nutrients to be focused towards flowering. I've done a lot of reading towards organics, but want to hear some expert opinions before I get too far.

I'm starting with:
    10 Gallons of previously used and rinsed fox farms soil that had 20% perlite added.

To this 10 gallon base soil I've added:
    1 Gallon of vermiculite
    2 Gallons of Peat Moss
    1 Gallon of Perlite
    1/2 Gallon of worm castings (1-0-0)
    1.33 cup of some store bought ferts with fungi/bacteria (2-7-4). The fertilizers instructions said to use 1/2 cup per 5 gallons, contained bone meal, feather meal, rock phosphate and chicken poo along with some 15 kinds of bacteria/fungi.
    0.5 lb of Azomite

I feel like the mix needs more ferts, but I'm still a noob when it comes to understanding how NPK ratios are combined for different ferts so I may be wrong.

1. I think the soil could use more worm castings, maybe another gallon or two?
    2. Should I look into raising my NPK ratios?
    If yes on 2,
    3. I can buy locally sul-po-mag (0-0-50), sea bird guano (1-10-0), and blood meal (13-0-0). If you have a better suggestion, please let me know. How much of these products should I add to my above soil mix (approx 15 gallons).

My main concern is I'm either going to make the soil too weak or too hot.

2. Hard to make a soil to weak, very easy to make it too hot. One way to avoid being too hot is to allow your mix to sit for 4 weeks, moistened, prior to use. This will allow soil microbes to process the elements a bit in order to make them more palatable to your plants.

Your ewc's should be about 2-3 gallons, your peat moss should be spanghum peat moss, lose the vermiculite and you could probably use more azomite.