Mainstream music is GOOD.

Discussion in 'Music genres, Bands and Artists' started by ASAPDEV, Aug 11, 2012.

1. This topic is going to be a little long just bear with me lol.

(Keep in mind, I'm only speaking for the hip hop genre.)
    (and it should also go without saying this is my opinion and mine alone.)

Mainstream music is good. In fact I say it has improved from what it used to be.
    Before I go further, I would like to point out that I am in fact a hip hop DJ (and I'm not talking about like the kids that have Virtual DJ on their computer and think they can DJ.. I'm an ACTUAL CLUB DJ) and I'm a producer as well and have been a fan of hip hop my entire life. That being said, it should give you light that I know what I'm talking about in at least the smallest light.

Let me explain how I came to this revelation because I know some of you are going to aim at chewing my head off at this point...

Well I used to be one of your typical underground hip hop nerds. I used to listen to almost exclusively underground artists, like the infamous Immortal Technique and the plethora of others, as well as I listened to the classic old school songs, like the old Nas and the like.
    I only listened to music that many would regard of having some type of substance albeit meaning some type of political message, an intriguing story, a deep spiritual meaning, etc. Of course I'd listen to the radio to listen to popular songs to see the state of hip hop as well as keep my music library growing, but not much.
    This was around the 2005-2009 era. I was disgusted with mainstream at the time. I hated it's simplicity. I hated the materialism. I hated the people that liked that garbage. And I was so turned off that I was about to stop listening to hip hop in general and dive head first into actual instrumental music such as rock and jazz. (didn't happen. even though i listen to those and many other genres anyway)

But around late 2010-early 2011, I had came to a realization: