Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

lung damage??

Discussion in 'Medical Marijuana Usage and Applications' started by PotSmoke1769, Jan 3, 2004.

1. i smoke pretty much every day and i was wondering if stopping smoking weed would make me have a faster mile time or make me ride a bike faster or row a boat better. is the smoking i do THAT bad for my lungs?? will the damage done by smoking get better??

2. I'm not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV. I do have some things to think about though....

It is true, inhaling any ignited substance into your lungs is bad for you. Any kind of smoke contains carcinogins (cancer causing agents), and tar, and other things that arn't good for you.

Pot will not hurt you as much as cigarettes. The tobacco (and whatever the hell else the tobacco companies want to add to that tobacco) already contains carcinogins. That's a double-whammy.

I've noticed, through casual research (using my friends as unknowing subjects), that the ones that smoke cigarettes cough a WHOLE lot more while smoking pot then the few of them that don't smoke cigs. The cigarette smokers don't seem to be able to take as big of hits, either.

So, all this really says, in short, is that smoking pot isn't good for your lungs, but isn't anywhere near as bad as smoking cigarettes.