Lumens.

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Calm Palm Tree, Jul 31, 2013.

1. What would be the min. amout of lumens needed to keep the plant happy.

2. Hi,

I'm by no means an expert. but from what I can tell lumens is not really the measurement in question. this guy explained it quite well. http://forum.grasscity.com/advanced-growing-techniques/417864-very-important-info-about-lumens.html

Lumens is a measure of light flux, so is independent of the area. It is essentially the amount of light available. So think of a bright light. It has a fixed amount of lumens, regardless of how near or far you are from it.
    imo the PAR watts and visual spectrum is far more important. not sure if I helped in any way. gl with it bro.

3. I don't use lumens to determine whether I have enough light or not. I go by watts per square foot of growing space. I try to get at least 50 watts per square foot. Those pictures tell me that your plants aren't getting enough light.

4. #5 Original Past, Jul 31, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 31, 2013
    Lumens are for humans, PAR (photosynthetically active radiation) is for plants.   Each of these measurements measure the number of photons (amount of light) in different spectrums.  Lumens measure the light that's detectible by the human brain (via the eyes).  PAR is a measurement of the amount of light that's within the spectrum useable by most plants.   There is a bit of overlap between the two, and therefore you can measure the number of lumens of light that you're providing for a plant, but it isn't technically the key factor you're after.