Lucas Formula

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by anongreen, Feb 22, 2008.

1. So, I'm sure everyone knows about the Lucas formula.

G-M-B (Grow-Micro-Bloom)
    0-5-10 - For Vegetative cycle (24/0)
    0-8-16 - For Flowering cycle (12/12)

Now, I have purchased Grow, Micro, and Bloom. Is there any use for Grow at all? I'm pretty new to hydro growing, but to me it would make sense to use grow. I've been looking for different nutrient soup opinions, but it looks like the Lucas Formula has a monopoly on it! I'm wondering if anyone has any evidence that using Grow is bad or good. If it's bad, I guess it will have a nice place sitting in my basement doing nothing, heh.

2. if you read the lucas formula, you'll see that there is a zero under grow, that means no use whatso ever :)

here is a more detailed discription of the lucas formula

http://www.drugs-forum.com/growfaq/1654.htm

enjoy

(and take that GH Grow back for a refund :p)

3. Yeah, I know there's a zero, but I was wondering if any other method utilizes grow? I was just curious if Grow has a purpose in any other nutrient recipe, and why it doesn't in the Lucas formula. Thanks for the link, though, I guess I'll go with the Lucas Formula.

4. Lucas formula is by far the "safest" route, start with that, when you've got everything else under conrol, you can start playing with nutes (if you want) for better plants.

the GH system is designed as a 3 part system, the "Grow" has a high N content, but Micro has enough N in it to cover vegitation.

you should be very happy with the lucas formula.

5. The only problem I've had with the Lucas Formula so far is my plants started to suffer from magnesium deficiencies for some reason. I'd keep some epsom salts on hand just in case they start showing signs.