Lst ?

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by coombaya, Nov 22, 2011.

1. It's my first time doing LST and am running out of room in my 10" pots and haven't even started to rap it around the pot yet. I have tied the main branch down along with all side branches coming off of main stem. I have also trimmed many leaves off these plants. I was wondering if I should also cut off the bud sites coming off the branches of the main branch. Obviosusly not the tops of these branches but the growth underneath the top flowers. Please help?

2. Post pics, I bet you could LST in such a way that you aren't running out of space.

3. How are you running out of room? I agree with toastybiz, we'd make better recommendations with a pic. I LST and use a training board. See if my LST helps brew up some ideas http://forum.grasscity.com/indoor-grow-journals/945601-drtjmprs-t5-lst-grow.html... I've done training other ways using wire and a large plastic overflow tray. I'd poke the wires through the rim of the tray to help pull it down.

4. Yeah I spent many hours on my scrog cutting off bud sites below the screen. It can be hard to decide how far up to cut bud sites off. I leave the top two inches of a branch.

SO yes cut off the lower bud sites. It will leave you with nice big buds above. I cut off the leafs below my screen along with the bud sites. It allows for better ventilation under the screen. My screen cost me about 7 bucks to build. After I saw a cool scrog on Hightimes I made one. I wanted it to look real clean, nothing ghetto, so I used PVC and construction string and laced the string through holes i made 3 inch apart on one side of the PVC pipe. It took a while to fish the line through the holes, but it looks so clean and neat.

Are you flowering?

5. But scrog is different that strait lst. Your plant should be flat if your doing lst and all buds should be about level. There should not be many if any lower buds to cut off.