Lower leaves dying/yellowing ...help?!?!

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by Preacherman, Sep 13, 2007.

1. I think I'm killing these little guys :(

I'm new to growing with HPS and my past experience is limited to a couple of semi-successful 1 plant grows in an old stereo speaker. My new set up is a closet grow 6'x2.5'x3' with a 400w HPS. I'm yet to install the extractor fan which I'll be doing this weekend so the plants are getting fresh air by leaving the door on the closet open with a 6" oscilating fan blowing across the plants. The light is currently about 12 inches from the tops of the plants.

I've got 7 plants, all about 1 month old grown from seed. 5 are 'Purple No.1' and the other 2 are Blue Mystic. They are all showing signs of serious yellowing on the lowest leaves, some of which are dying and crumbling up. The plants haven't looked good for a week or so, with most of the leaves either drooping or curling inwards (as if they are trying to avoid the light - see pics). But they've never looked as good as most of the grow journal ones I've seen on here

Temps in the grow room are 78f in the shade, 90f with the probe under the lights (not sure which is the reading I should use?) and humidity varies from 45%-55%.

I started adding veg nutes 8 days ago, at first going with the 100% solution the bottle recomended - Bio Bizz Bio Grow NPK 8-2-6. Its also been getting a product called Hygrozyme. Even after reading the label I'm not sure what it is or what it does, but the guy at the shop swore by it so I got some and have been adding a little less than the recomended dose to the water. After reading on here that plants need to be eased into nutes I watered the remaining bucket of nute water down to 50% solution. That was 5 days ago and since then the plants have only been getting half the recomended dose of nutes with every watering.