Looking to upgrade. 180 or 240w Blackstar?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by kmin, Mar 19, 2012.

1. Hello Everyone.

First off, I just want you all to know that I am a novice and am currently on my first grow. I'm in my 6th week of veg and will be flowering soon.

Up until now I have been using CFL's exclusively for my 2x2 sq. ft. grow. They fit my needs at the time.
    For veg I used 8x45w 6500k CFL's; 360 watts total.
    For flowering I will be using the same setup but with 2700k CFL's.

I have had my share of heat problems which I have resolved. Currently everything is running fine and I am happy with my grow but with summer coming I'm afraid I'll be running into these issues again.

HOWEVER, I am already planning my next grow (Arent we all?) and I have some questions.

As mentioned I currently am using a 2x2 Sq. Ft. grow area and plan on expanding to something larger as some point. I don't know when though or how much bigger. Maybe 3x3 or 4x4.

I'd like to plan for the future if possible.

Should I just get a 180w Blackstar that has a 2x2 coverage and buy additional units later on, Or can I get away with using a larger 240w Blackstar in a 2x2 area? Or is using a light designed for a larger area somehow not a good idea? (I am using a grow tent)

The website also mentions that optimal distance from plants to the LED is recommended 10-14 inches. But I have seen others hang their lights 2 or more feet away, While others practically lay their lights on the plants. I'd like to be able to keep them as close as possible so I'm not wasting vertical space. Can I hang them 10-14 away? Opinions?

One last question... The website says that it is a flowering light but can be used for veg and flowering. Yet they also have a vegetation light. Can I just buy the one LED and be done with it for all stages of growth?

Ok, I have babbled enough. Sorry for the wall of text. I think I have explained myself in full but if I have missed anything please let me know.