Looking for a bit of adivce...

Discussion in 'General' started by iam Delta Nine, Jun 26, 2013.

1. What's up blades?  :smoke:

So as I'm sitting in my room on summer vacation from school (I'm going into my sophomore year of college) I'm considering some life options. First, some background on me: Currently I work mainly in a supermarket basically as a part time manager. I have all the same responsibilities as a store manager, but I don't receive their pay. Now don't get me wrong, I make alright money there. I've been working there for almost 2 years and I've worked my way up. I just finished my first year away at college and I finished with a 3.1 GPA my first year. I'm currently 18 years of age.

Now the other day, my store manager was gauging my interest in moving into management full time. As I learned more about it, I found out that the pay isn't that great at first, but I can move up as rapidly as I want too essentially. It comes with benefits, job security and opportunities for advancement. Now don't get me wrong, I enjoy going away to school in the experience it's been giving me. But at the same time I have absolutely no clue about what I want to do with my life at all. 

I feel like I'm taking out money in student loans to essentially smoke weed all day, temporarily memorize information, regurgitate it, and then get drunk on the weekends. I don't feel as if I'm receiving anything from college that I should be. I enjoy working in a supermarket doing what I do.. It's a high stress job but I enjoy the work. So I'm wondering and I've had this conversation with my girlfriend of two and a half years: Should I do something now that I can see myself enjoying? Or do I continue putting myself into debt without feeling like I'm getting anything out of it in the hopes that it'll land me a better paying job?