Linux

Discussion in 'Science and Nature' started by ragnar_wagnar, Feb 8, 2009.

1. anyone?

i'm just starting to learn linux so im a complete noob... taking a class for command line... should be fun once i get the hang of it.

2. #2 sikander, Feb 9, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2009
    I've used Linux for going on four years now and I couldn't imagine going back to Windows.

It's not that it's necessarily better: it's just that the basic principles for how Linux systems are organized are usually simple enough that if something goes pear-shaped you can track it down and fix it... as compared to Windows, where too often the solution I've been given has been "Well crap, guess you gotta reformat and install!". Also, where Linux systems usually go wrong is in installation. If I have a problem it's almost certainly going to crop up the first time I boot it, and once it's resolved I don't ever have to worry about it again.

The versatility of the command-line is one of Linux's greatest strengths, in my opinion. It's not that it's a superior interface, necessarily, it's just that it's very flexible and can be used to do many things, sometimes more quickly than you could do with a GUI.

My one piece of advice? Remember the man-pages, they are your friend, and so is Google. Oh, and never run a command if you don't know what it does. For some reason there's a class of troll on Linux support boards who likes to give commands like rm -rf / (DON'T TRY IT, it erases every file on your filesystem!) as answers to every question.

3. One of the first things I do after an install is to modify the rm command in the .bashrc file to rm -i. Just in case I'm deleting something important, the terminal will tell me I'm stupid and ask me if I really want to proceed.

4. I'm planning building custom pc with linux. and maybe add dual boot. I know some programs cannot run on linux wine.

I found this great site. It got everything you needed to know and more.