Lighting trouble

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by ChillyWilly5, Mar 6, 2016.

1. Hey guys,
    I was wondering if someone could help me out here.

This is my issue:
    I have a 6" Air cooled Hood with a brand new 1000w Hortilux HPS bulb in there. Being ran by a 1000w Dimmable Lumatek Ballast. The light will run perfectly on the timer for a few days then just stop working. I usually reset the timer and it starts working for consecutive days again. Now I am onto the problem of the ballast is firing up but now we get no light.....
    Can my hood be crapped out? As far as the socket and cord? Im no electrician!
    The light bulb is brand new, other things work in the socket and the ballast is turning on. By process of elimination it leads me to believe the hood is the problem!

Anyone have any experience with this?

2. This is a total guess here since the equipment isn't sitting in front of me and I can't see your issue first hand, but it sounds to me like you have a bad connection in there somewhere. The only way to figure it out is to find an electrician with a meter who can sit there and run the points on it and figure out if and where it's losing connection.