Lighting Question, after germination?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Medicinal-Tommy, Sep 30, 2009.

1. Hey guys I just purchased some white widow seeds from the Nirvana-shop. This is my first time growing from seed. I used Jiffy pellets to germinate, and I just replanted my new little sprouts into Miracle Grow potting soil.

So I come here for advice.

Is it better to put fragile little sprouts under a 400 watt metal halide, or to keep them under fluorescent until they become a little bit larger.

2. I put my sprouts under a 400w MH the day they sprourted 4 days ago at 30" to start. On day two I moved them to 28" and they are at about 26" right now that they grew into. No problems. I've get a fan aimed at the space between the reflector and the top of the seedlings. :D

I'll prolly move it up to 24" next week and that's it. I got that from a HT article and I've done it before. ;)

3. #3 Medicinal-Tommy, Oct 1, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 1, 2009
    Thanks for the reply. I just wasn't sure what kind of light new sprouts needed most. And if they could handle a powerful light right off the get go. First time I have ever grown from seed. So of course there is a world of new question's. Most people I have seen cloning and germination are using tube fluorescent's. So you think if the 400 Watt Metal Halide is available that is simply the way to go?

Here are a couple of pics, I was going to drop that 400 to about 3feet off the ground and put my sprouts next to the one mother currently under the 400watt mh

Another question, should I give the sprouts some rest, like do a 18/6 light cycle or should I zap these little sucker with 24 hours of light?

Attached Files:

4. I got a question does it matter if the light is a soft white, bright white, or day light. Its a 65 watt with 665 lumens, should i just be looking at the lumens?

5. So here is what I have done, please correct me if I need to do something different.