Lied on application - got job at restaurant

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by ptownroll, Jan 5, 2013.

1. What it do?

Ill start by saying I applied at this new restaurant opening and long story short I got the job.

When I applied I submitted my résumé and applied for a server position. I verbally mentioned I was in school for culinary (total lie to raise my chances of landing the job) anyway they say they have "folders upon folders" of server applicants. (Great...)

They went on to say they need to hire people in the kitchen. They were trying to persuade me to work in the kitchen so I mentioned I can do food prep. Real easy all you do is pre cut meats, veggies, season, etc. then they preceded to say "oh we will also throw you on the line" I'm like fucked I'm screwed because I'm not even in the culinary program LOL.

So wtf do I do? I have zero cooking experience besides home cooked meals. Its like a bar/grill restaurant.

2. Lmao go with the flow

3. make yo paper

4. I've been working in the food business for several years now. My father owns a restaurant and two cafe's in the city and I can tell you this. You won't be able to just blindly work in the kitchen without prior experience. I would either decline the position and not work there or speak with the chef or patron of the restaurant and weasel yourself back into the dining hall to wait tables.

Why did you think lying about having experience in the kitchen would land you a job serving? Lmfaoo

5. Idk I worked at a major chain before bussing and I never said I had kitchen experience I just said I was still in the classroom portion of the program when they asked

6. Go for it man, the worst that will happen is you gotta get a new job.

Just ask lots of questions.