LED vs LEC who will win??

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by 420207, Mar 23, 2017.

1. 2 Sun System 315w LEC vs 3 1200 watt Viparspectra LED lights in bloom comparison.
    I decided to run an experiment in the same space 8'x8' tent with 2 different lights in bloom. I started with 4 1200w viparspectra germinated seeds in January 20th. In veg for 7 weeks and cut clones about 12 days ago. I bought a Sun Systems LEC and holy crap it was killing veg for the clones. Today the clones were ready to be transplanted into 1/2 gallon pots so I decided to go buy another LEC and swap one of the LEDs into the 4x4 clone/ veg tent and put the LEC into the flower tent. I recorded the LUX from both sides and while the LED is slightly higher at the same distance I think the LEC is going to crush the LED plants. I anticipate about another 4-5 weeks of flower before harvest. This is my first time grow so excited to experiment and see the results. All organic soil and go box nutes. Thoughts and comments welcome![​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

• Like Like x 2
  2. Sounds like, watt for watt, LEC is killing cheapie Chinese blurple LEDs

630w of LEC vs 1500+ actual watts of LED.

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

3. Time will tell but think I may end up selling the LEDs and buy 4 more LECs!!

• Like Like x 2
  4. LEC's are great but have fallen out of favor for their high cost since they're not quite as good as cobs. I certainly would prefer one to an HPS though or a cheaper LED. Also called CMH lights. Some people don't realize they're the same thing. LEC = Light emitting ceramic. CMH = Ceramic Metal Halide.

This is my local grow stores new product he's really pushing. I forgot which brand he has but they have remote ballasts. I kinda like that compared to some of the sunsystems LEC that have built in ballasts so you put the heat in the grow room, not that they grow hot but eliminating any extra heat IMO is good. Remote ballast>built in.