LED vs HPS efficacy and the Great PAR Debate

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by TechBuddy, Aug 27, 2012.

1. #1 TechBuddy, Aug 27, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 27, 2012
    Hi - not entirely sure if this is the right way to do this, but instead of hijacking someone else's journal thread I thought it best to move the conversation here.

For context we were talking about HPS vs LED specifically the "500W" Blackstar LED.

Here's the original thread: http://forum.grasscity.com/organic-...watt-led-grow-experiment-13.html#post15612839

And the quotes:

My response:

His response:

As a disclaimer I am a nerd, I am a teacher, and I ramble. So bear with me. I'm also new, but I have read the 3 highest rated books cover-to-cover (both bibles and the horticulture handbook) and am assimilating as much information as I can from as many sources as I can before I start my (legal!) grow. In other words I may be wrong, and if I am please feel free to correct me.

In regards to your first question about PAR scale and what is useful: the "PAR" scale was designed in order to give some vague sort of standardization to measuring light that is useful for plants. PAR is far more useful than lumens/watt, but it's still not exact. Because different plants have concentrations of Chlorophyll A and B and a wide range of carotenoids that utilize different frequencies of light it was difficult to come up with any sort of exact measurement. In 1972 a scientist by the name of McCree proposed that anything between 400nm-700nm was useful, and based on quantum flux readings it's sufficient to treat all frequencies equally for simplicity.

What this means is that, for example, an ideal light emitting 100W at exactly 560nm (pure green) is considered "PAR" light. However less than 15% of that energy can be used by marijuana plants. So really you're not applying 100W of "useful" light, you're only applying (for argument's sake) 15W. But according to the PAR scale it's 100W.