LED Light Design and Build Diary

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by putt4dough, Jul 10, 2019.

1. Hi Guys,

I am partway through an LED build that I have been posting on another forum, but I thought I'd post here as well to get as much advice as I can.

I am relatively new to growing and have been running an HLG QB288 V2 board in my 2 x 2 tent with some success. I’ve now decided to upgrade my tent size, so I’m in need of more light power. Instead of buying a new light, I’m going to make a project out of it and build my own.

I’m aiming for 300W of power (supplied to the LEDs) with a base of 3000k white and peaks at 450nm blue and 650nm red. Also, I’d like the light fixture to be modular, meaning that I can easily arrange them together for larger grow areas.

So far I have put together a mechanical design of the light fixture and have ordered some parts for three lights. Images are below.

I'm now in the process of choosing the LEDs I'm going to use and design a PCB.

Any feedback would be great.

Cheers,

Toby

2019-07-09 11_07_17-Window.png
    2019-07-09 11_07_39-Window.png
    2019-07-09 12_52_26-Window.png 2019-07-09 12_53_07-Window.png 2019-07-09 12_57_10-Window.png

• Winner Winner x 1
  2. You know I am up for adaption ! you going to spend money on heat sinks like that is crazy .
    The Samsung QB's do not require a heavy duty heat sink like that and if your going that far where is the fan ?
    Straight up if you want your QB's to run longer and cooler put in a dimmer switch and turn the light down 25%

Your lights look fantastic , lets hope that heat sink will still be needed when the next new generation of Grow lights come out .
    Ps Those are almost a splitting image of my LED supply Cree/Cob kits with a makers controller .
    I have my eight 2V 288 QB's wired in 240 AC volts and running over 150 AC Voltage @2600 Ma

• Like Like x 1