LED Grow light Quality

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by TPiffKed, Mar 14, 2018.

?

Expensive LEDs worth the price?

1. Yes

88.9%
  2. No

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Minimal difference

11.1%
  1. Hey guys, just wanted to get some opinions on LEDs and how much bang you can get for your buck. Ive been growing for almost 2 years now, and basically have my setup where I want it for the space I can utilize. However Im always looking to upgrade. I have 2 350 watt cheap-o LEDs Ive been using in my tent thats right around 3x3. I grow 2 plants using DWC. Theyve worked great for me, especially where they were only 80 bucks a piece. Ive been looking more into full spectrum, higher wattage lights, and also bigger lights that have both veg and bloom controls. However, looking into these lights that peak my interest, i realize the "good" ones start around $500. Im sticking with LED, so im really only looking for info on LEDs. Does anyone have an opinion through experience whether an expensive high-end light is really worth the expense, or if cheaper lights can work just as well? Figure a lot of people are in my same boat, could be a good conversation.
    20180314_134424.jpg 20180314_134343.jpg
    Excuse the messy tent, moving shit around

• Like Like x 1
  2. I'm on my 4th different brand of led now. Some of the cheap panels are totally worth it. Meizhi is one of the better ones.

There is quite a difference between those and the top end equipment though. The DIY world and kits have made top end leds pretty affordable if you're willing to do the minimal work it takes to wire a light and hang it.

These are about .66 cents a watt and have the most efficient output you can find. Worth every penny. That's about 300 watts worth of leds. You can find driver for between $50-100.

• Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1