Learning/tips on how to play bass!!!

Discussion in 'Music genres, Bands and Artists' started by GolgiApparatus, May 25, 2010.

1. Hi GC!

I am an avid drummer, and during a jam session 3 days ago I picked up my friends bass while he jumped on the drumkit.

I realized that I greatly enjoyed playing bass (and could pluck the strings in rhythm which is a start), so I decided to take it up as an instrument.

So far I can play smoke on the water, twinkle twinkle little star, and money by pink floyd on the bass...

If any of you have ANY

-Tips
    -Hints
    -Strategies
    -Exercises
    -Easy Tabs
    -Words of Encouragement
    -Help in anyway

Then it would be hugely hugely appreciated.

Thanks so much! Anything that can help would be lovely:wave::hello:

2. my brother is a sick bassist, the only thing i can think of to help is that he said that to learn slap he would slap his knuckles to help with hitting the strings

3. thanks for the advice bud :)

4. That's pretty sick man....I don't have any advice for you, but bass is cool, I wanna learn someday but I'm learning guitar atm....literally I'm dinking around on my guitar right now

5. Hey man, bass player here for just over 1 year now. I don't have the most experience out there but I'll tell ya a couple things that will def help you along the way.

Don't use tabs, play by ear. I know tabs are soo much more convinient and quicker but in the long run you'll become a much better player if you play by ear. At first you might get discouraged and impatient with earing out songs but trust me, after doing it a lot, it becomes more of an automatic thing. I used to get so frustrated and stop playing for a while, but now when I listen to a lick I can usually pick it up after hearing it a few times.

Learn scales. I know they're boring but they can help you come up with your own bass licks as well as making you more familiar with notes on the fretboard(where to find them, octaves, harmonics, etc).