ladybugs killing spidermites what do you think?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Bcherbs, Jan 7, 2009.

1. i ordered 500 ladybugs to kill the mites i have how well do u think it will work?

2. #2 cantharis, Jan 7, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2009
    According to my organic gardening catalogue, ladybugs are introduced specifically to control aphids.
    For red spider mites you need the predatory mite Phytoselius, available from organic gardening outlets.
    You apparently have the wrong bug, but I am not an expert.

3. ok i read about ladybugs and they also kill mites and other insects just wondering if anyone has tried this .and i dont think i have red mites they dont look red they are yellow and black i think hard to see em

4. Then that should work..especially if all they have to eat are the spidermites.

But.....what are you going to use to kill ladybugs? :eek:

:smoking:

5. FIRE!

Shouldn't they die after they've eaten all the pests and starve?

6. i have a cabint grow about to start, how do mites get to the garden? its inside my room.. should i worry about them getting in?

• Like Like x 1
  7. Mites are almost inevitable in an indoor grow, especially in the spring & summer time, & if you have pets.

The best thing you can do is control them. When you first transplant, make sure to make up some water & Neem oil in a bucket & a few teaspoons of Dawn dish washing liquid to help coat the plant.

Dip all your clones in the solution before you transplant. If you let your temps soar into the high 80's the mites will proliferate like crazy. They love warm, dry conditions.

Keep your room as cool as possible & a bit humid. Get a spray bottle with a nozzle that can rotate 360 degrees. Make sure to spray the undersides of the leaves every 1-2 weeks. Mites mostly live on the undersides of the leaves.

You can also use pyrethum bombs. The are harmless to the plants & do a very good job of keeping mites at bay.